Saint Emilion

The Saint-Emilion classification

82 crus in the AOC Saint-Émilion classification

The history of this classification
Starting in 1954, at the request of the Syndicat de défense de l’appellation Saint-Émilion, the Institut national des appellations d’origine (INAO) began the classification of crus of this appellation

Special labeling
The decree states that the INAO must revise the classification every ten years. Six classifications have been established since 1954.

The sixth and final classification, published on September 6, 2012, resulted from a new procedure, entirely under the authority of the INAO, with the assistance of the Ministries of Agriculture and Consumption.

The categories

The 2012 classification names 82 estates: 64 Grands Crus classés and 18 Premiers Grands Crus classés.


Château Angélus (A) 

Château Ausone (A) 

Château Beau-Séjour (héritiers Duffau-Lagarrosse) 

Château Beau-Séjour-Bécot 

Château Bél Air-Monange 

Château Canon 

Château Canon la Gaffelière 

Château Cheval Blanc (A) 

Château Figeac 

Clos Fourtet 

Château la Gaffelière 

Château Larcis Ducasse 

La Mondotte 

Château Pavie (A) 

Château Pavie Macquin 

Château Troplong Mondot 

Château Trottevieille 

Château Valandraud 


Château l’Arrosée 

Château Balestard la Tonnelle 

Château Barde-Haut 

Château Bellefont-Belcier 

Château Bellevue Château Berliquet Château Cadet-Bon Château Cap de Mourlin Château le Chatelet Château Chauvin Château Clos de Sarpe Château la Clotte Château la Commanderie Château Corbin Château Côte de Baleau Château la Couspaude Château Dassault Château Destieux Château la Dominique Château Faugères Château Faurie de Souchard Château de Ferrand Château Fleur Cardinale Château La Fleur Morange Mathilde Château Fombrauge Château Fonplégade Château Fonroque Château Franc Mayne Château Grand Corbin Château Grand Corbin-Despagne Château Grand Mayne Château les Grandes Murailles Château Grand-Pontet Château Guadet Château Haut Sarpe Clos des Jacobins Couvent des Jacobins Château Jean Faure Château Laniote Château Larmande Château Laroque Château Laroze Clos la Madeleine Château la Marzelle Château Monbousquet Château Moulin du Cadet Clos de l’Oratoire Château Pavie Decesse Château Peby Faugères Château Petit Faurie de Soutard Château de Pressac Château le Prieuré Château Quinault l’Enclos Château Ripeau Château Rochebelle Château Saint-Georges-Cote-Pavie Clos Saint-Martin Château Sansonnet Château la Serre Château Soutard Château Tertre Daugay Château la Tour Figeac Château Villemaurine Château Yon-Figeac 

Learn more

Grape varieties
Our Terroir
Our Terroir
Making It Easy: Understanding Cru Bourgeois