Crus Classés de Graves

The Graves classification

16 crus in the Graves classification

The history of this classification
In 1953, at the request of the Syndicat de défense de l’appellation des Graves, the Institut national des appellations d’origine (INAO) established this classification.

By municipality and wine type (red or white).

Special labeling
Only one classification level, no hierarchy; this classification is not subject to revision.

The categories 

16 Crus, all of which belong to the AOC Pessac-Léognan:

7 red, 3 white, 6 red and white.

Château Haut-Brion, did you know that this is the only Bordeaux wine to be classified twice? It appeared in both the Graves classification and the Grands Crus Classés en 1855.


Château Bouscaut, Cadaujac, rouge et blanc

Château Carbonnieux, Léognan, rouge et blanc

Domaine de Chevalier, Léognan, rouge et blanc

Château Couhins, Villenave-d’Ornon, blanc

Château Couhins-Lurton, Villenave-d’Ornon, blanc

Château de Fieuzal, Léognan, rouge

Château Haut-Bailly, Léognan, rouge

Château Haut-Brion, Pessac (également Premier Cru classé en 1855), rouge 

Château Latour-Martillac, Martillac, rouge et blanc

Château Laville-Haut-Brion, Talence, blanc

Château Malartic-Lagravière, Léognan, rouge et blanc

Château La Mission-Haut-Brion, Talence, rouge

Château Olivier, Léognan, rouge et blanc

Château Pape-Clément, Pessac, rouge

Château Smith-Haut-Lafite, Martillac, rouge

Château La Tour-Haut-Brion, Talence, rouge

Learn more

Grape varieties
Our Terroir
Our Terroir
Making It Easy: Understanding Cru Bourgeois