There currently exist 5 classifications in Bordeaux. They provide the consumer with a reliable yet non-exhaustive list of prestigious wines (which represent about 5% of Bordeaux’s production).


The Great Growth (“crus”) classification, established in 1855 at the request of Emperor Napoleon III, concerns red wines from 60 Médoc châteaux and 1 château from the Pessac-Léognan appellation, ranked within five categories:
• 5 Premiers Crus (First Growth)
• 15 Deuxièmes Crus (Second Growth)
• 14 Troisièmes Crus (Third Growth)
• 10 Quatrièmes Crus (Fourth Growth)
• 18 Cinquièmes Crus (Fifth Growth)

This classification is also comprised of sweet white wines from 27 châteaux in the Sauternes and Barsac appellations, ranked within three categories:

• 1 Premier Cru Supérieur
• 11 Premiers Crus
• 15 Deuxièmes Crus

Since 1855, this classification has only been revised once, in 1973, with the promotion of Château Mouton Rothschild from the rank of Deuxièmes Grands Crus Classés to that of Premiers Grands Crus Classés (Médoc).

Visit the 1855 Grands Crus Classés website to find out more.


  • Staying up to date on all the latest Bordeaux news is easy.
    Become a member today and receive email updates on events
    coming your way.